

# **2025 NOMINATIONS OPEN**

All nominations due October 31, 2024

The Kansas City Kansas Community College Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2025 Hall of Fame Awards.

The purpose of the Hall of Fame Awards and Scholarship Event is to recognize and honor those individuals and organizations who have dedicated their time, talents and lives to educating others, whether in the classroom or on the streets of life. Funds raised at the event support scholarships accommodating students of all ages to help achieve their goals and contribute to society, which in turn makes our city, state, and country a better place to live! Each individual has potential, and it's our job to be the catalyst by offering access and support through financial scholarships.

The criteria by which the Hall of Fame inductees will be selected are as follows:

- Demonstrates a commitment to education and to Kansas City Kansas Community College
- Works to improve the quality of life in the community through their passion for education
- Strives to increase educational opportunities for others
- Supports significant changes that have improved the quality of education
- Can be an individual, organization, or company from the Mid-America Region

No more than four nominees will be chosen according to the above criteria by the nominating committee and finalists presented to the selection committee. Qualified nominations that are not selected will be advanced for review in the following year, and for that year only.

Required documents for a complete submission:

- ▶ Nomination Form
- One-page biography of the nominee
- Letters of Recommendation Provide at least two letters of recommendation (no more than three) in support of your nomination written by separate entities.

Nominations will NOT be considered until all required documents are submitted. Confirmation will be sent upon receiving documents to the email provided on the nomination form.

## Inductees will be announced December 2024

Inductees into the Hall of Fame will be recognized at a formal induction ceremony to take place on April 25, 2025 at the KCKCC Dr. Thomas R. Burke Technical Education Center located at 6565 State Ave. Kansas City, KS 66102



## 2025 NOMINATION FORM

Nominee:		
Phone: Business:		
Business Address:	 	
Home Address:		
City/State/Zip:		
Nominator:		
Phone: Business:		
Business Address:	 	
Home Address:		
City/State/Zip:		

Please briefly list the attributes of the nominee that meet the criteria and support this level of recognition distinguishing the nominee's career from other outstanding contributions to the field of education and the lives of students. You may use a separate sheet for this information, if there is not adequate space below.

Nominations must include a one-page biography of the nominee and at least two (no more than three) letters of recommendation from different individuals. Letters of recommendation should be no more than 2 pages in length. Supporting documents can be mailed separately from this form.

Nominations must be postmarked or submitted by October 31, 2024.

Return form & accompanying materials to:

KCKCC Foundation & Alumni Association 7250 State Avenue, Room 3500 Kansas City, KS 66112

### PREVIOUS INDUCTEES

#### 1996

The Learning Exchange Patricia E. Likins Deb Clough Dr. Hugh Speer Dr. Albert Nelson Betty T. Welsbacher Alvin L. Brooks

#### 1997

KCP T-19 Dr. Martha Hale Mildred Lucile Watson, Esq. Blake Mulvaney Alton L. Davies Jan Alderson Dr. Edward H. Hammond

#### 1998

Genesis School Dr. William A. Locke Dr. Marjorie K. Blank Willis M. Watt, Ph.D. Richard G. Dawson Sylvia White Robinson Phil Witt

#### 1999

Bayer Corp. John "Buck" O 'Neil Ronald W Poplau Dr. Sheila J. Drake Carl R. Boyd Marilyn Meyer

#### 2000

Carter Broadcast Group, Inc. Dr. Edward Beasley John Heineman Mitsuye Conover Dr. O.L. Plucker Lydia Gonzales

#### 2001

Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Kansas City The Honorable Cordell D. Meeks, Jr. Children's Center for theVisually Impaired J. Paul Jewell Will Shields KVC Behavioral Health Center Gail Wortmann

#### 2002

El Centro Inc. Ewing Marion Kauffman Dr. Charles J. Carlsen Fred & JoAnn Ball J.E. Dunn Construction Dr. F. Gene Hampton E. May (Pat) Lindquist

#### 2003

LULAC National Educational Service Centers, Inc. Audrey Buford Ferguson Lisa Zahn Crooks The Kansas City Star Corinthian C. Nutter Saturnina Alvarado

#### 2004

Junior League of Kansas City, MO. Gloria Alexander Willis Mary S. Dailey Paul M. Rutherford, Ph.D. Bill Reardon Virginia Krebs Dr. Jack M. Flint

#### 2005

P.E.O. Sisterhood Dr. Patricia W Caruthers Brett D. Potts Rev. Ervin Sims, Jr. Dick Bond Dr. Raymond L. Daniels Dr. Bertram Caruthers, Sr.

#### 2006

Barbara Carswell Patricia Gaunce James R. Goheen Dr. Debra Peppers Clay "Bud" Roberts, Jr. The Sprint Foundation

#### 2007

Josh Anderson Sister Mary Janet McGilley, SCL Andy Tompkins Richard W Warren Hallmark Foundation Science Pioneers

#### 2008

Audrey F. Ballard Dale M. Dennis Keith Lindsey Carol Marinovich The Honorable Vicki Miles-LaGrange Louis W Potts Sumner High School (1905 - 1978)

#### 2009

Ken Bingman Jim Gill R. Crosby Kemper III Richard K. Rasdall, Jr. Children's Therapeutic Learning Center Lincoln High School

#### 2010

Dr. Thomas R. Burke Thomas M. Bloch Jim Dougherty, Ph.D. Cheryl Brown Henderson Keil E. Hileman II Capitol Federal

#### 2011

Curtis Chandler Patricia Henley Ph.D. Sister Vickie Perkins, SCL Max L. Ruhl Assistance League of Kansas City Hope Academy Charter School

#### 2012

Marlin Cooper George Breidenthal Albert Frisby Prep-KC Dr. Ron Wimmer 20/20 Leadership

#### 2013

Harry McDonald Dr. Howard Shaw Greg Graves Dr. Bob Van Maren AT&T 2nd Chance Scholarship Foundation

#### 2015

Dr. Cynthia Lane Carol Levers Mila Banks Dr. Shirley Wendel Hannah Loftus Learning Club KCK Saturday Academy

#### 2016

Anita Reach Melanie Jackson Scott Henry Louis Greater KC Hispanic Collaborative Rob Hassig

#### 2017

John "JD" Rios Barry E. White Jo-Anne Meditz Edward Dwight, Jr.

#### 2018

Dr. R Jayson Strickland Duane Shaw Loren Taylor Dr. Deloris Stickland

#### 2019

Michael & Guadalupe Dean Leon Brady Rebecca Dukstein Dr. Jacqueline Vietti

#### 2021

Leavenworth Public Schools Education Foundation Mary Ann Flunder -*Posthumously* Maxine Drew Pamela M. Louis-Walden Alan Hoskins

#### 2022

Irene Caudillo Benoyd "Butch" Myers Ellison *Posthumously* Dr. Ben Hayes Sen. Pat Pettey

#### 2023

Honorable Timothy L. Dupree, Sr. Dr. Nelda Godfrey Ramón Murguía Dr. Curtis V. Smith Gerald Ulrich Henry Wash

#### 2024

John A. Hodge Philip W. Miller Memorial Scholarship Fund Dr. Karin Roberts, Ph.D, RN,CNE UKHS Because We Care GED Program