Friday, March 14, 2014
The date for the Driver’s Education Course offered on the Kansas City Kansas Community College Leavenworth campus has changed. The course now starts March 24.
This course is designed for the beginning driver and consists of 28 hours of classroom instruction, six hours of driving with the instructor and twelve hours of observation. During this state-approved course, students will master Kansas road laws and safe defensive driving techniques. The course fee is $299.
Successful completion of the course requirements will result in a Certificate of Completion from the state. This certificate might lead to the license the student is eligible to receive, without further testing. The state, however, does reserve the right to re-test.
The instructor will arrange the driving and observation time after the class begins and the entire 18 hours of driving and observation time will be outside the classroom instruction hours and could extend beyond the course completion date.
To be eligible to take this class, the student must be at least 14-years-old and obtain a state of Kansas Instructional Permit from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Parents of minors are encouraged to attend the first night of class.
For more information, visit the KCKCC website at www.kckcc.edu and select “Continuing Education.” Information is also available by calling 913-651-2111.